Village of Riverdale Facts

• Date of Incorporation—1892.•Current Population—13,549 as of 2010.

• Population Growth—The Village of Riverdale has seen a 10{4eb304a4d9198ef4cbfa4d9752cfb1f6325edcc4bdfa5b368c28abcd760f092b} reduction in population since its 2000 census. The 2000 census had a population of 15,055 residents, of which 31.8{4eb304a4d9198ef4cbfa4d9752cfb1f6325edcc4bdfa5b368c28abcd760f092b} were under 18 years of age. The current population is less that the report population back in 1990.

• Location and Description—The Village of Riverdale is located along the southern border of the City of Chicago. Riverdale is located within Southeast Cook County, and is situated between Harvey, Dolton, and Blue Island, and has close proximity to both I-57 and I-94. The total village square miles is 3.7.

• Brief History— The first setters came to the area in 1835, and the areas of Riverdale and Dolton were practically one community until each incorporated in 1892. Riverdale was developed as a farming community by the 1850’s and industries of distilleries, lumber yards, ice houses, cattle pens, barrel makers, and sugar refineries followed. Acme Steel Company became a major force in the local economy in 1918. After World War II, many of the soldiers came to Riverdale, which played a role in the expansion of the village. The railroads became a big part of the village’s progression into the mid 1900’s. Today the CSX and IHB make up two of the village’s largest railroad yards.

• Climate—The Village of Riverdale is located in the upper Midwest adjacent to Lake Michigan. The village weather is typical to the upper Midwest, with hot summers, and cold wet winters. Lake Michigan enhances the weather systems to provide additional rain and snowfall totals.

• Governing Body Format—The Village of Riverdale is governed by a Mayor and Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees is made up of 6 members elected on a 4 year cycle. There are several departments that make up the Village of Riverdale. These include; Fire Department, Police Department, Public Works, Inspectional Services, Clerk and Administration Offices, and the Resource Center.